¡Hola! – Hello!

Spanish Flag

Spanish Flag

Spanish is one of the Romance languages in the Italic subfamily of the Indo-European language family, and within Spain has two major dialects: Andalusian and Castilian. Many other dialects exist in other geographical areas, namely North and South America.

Spanish evolved from several languages and dialects in central-northern Iberia during the 9th century. Now Spanish is the second most natively spoken language in the world, after Mandarin Chinese. There are nearly 400 million people speaking Spanish as a native language  worldwide.

Spanish is the official language of Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Spain, Uruguay, and Venezuela. In addition, it is widely spoken in several other nations, including Canada, Morocco, the Philippines, and the United States.


  1. One: uno (OO-noh)
  2. Two: dos (doss)
  3. Three: tres (tress)
  4. Four: cuatro (KWA-tro)
  5. Five: cinco (SEEN-ko)
  6. Six: seis (SAISS)
  7. Seven: siete (SYE-te)
  8. Eight: ocho (O-cho)
  9. Nine: nueve (NWAI-be)
  10. Ten: diez (DYESS)
  11. Eleven: once (OHN-say)
  12. Twelve: doce (DOH-say)
  13. Thirteen: trece (TRAY-say)
  14. Fourteen: catorce (kah-TOHR-say)
  15. Fifteen: quince (KEEN-say)
  16. Sixteen: dieciseis (DYEESS-ee-SAYSS)
  17. Seventeen: diecisiete (DYEESS-ee-SYAY-tay)
  18. Eighteen: dieciocho (DYEESS-ee-OH-choh)
  19. Nineteen: diecinueve (DYEESS-ee-NWAY-bay)
  20. Twenty: veinte (BAYN-tay)


  • black – negro (NAY-groh)
  • white – blanco (BLAHN-koh)
  • green – verde (BAYR-day)
  • red – rojo (ROH-hoh)
  • brown – marrón (mah-RON) , castaño (kah-STAN-yo)
  • orange – naranja (nar-AHN-hah), anaranjado (ah–nah-ran-HA-do)
  • yellow – amarillo (AH-mah-REE-yoh)
  • blue – azul (ah-SOOL)
  • grey –gris (GREESS)
  • pink – rosa (rosa)
  • purple – violeta (vee-oh-LEH-tah)



Gracias – Thanks.

Adiós! – Goodbye!